VERA: Nail Lacquers Review, Swatches, and Pics

February 4, 2012 § 4 Comments

 

Vera: Midsummer's Dream, Play Day Nail Lacquer

Revolutionary new high gloss formula. Three long-wearing finishes – Cream, Sheer, and Frosted. Visibly different. Provides no-streak/no-chip finish. Contains conditioners and UV protection.

VERA: Nail Lacquer

Release Date:  February 9, 2012* / March 2012 (International) *It’s currently available online right now at MACCosmetics.com.  To locate, search for the products individually by name.

| Midsummer’s Dream | Pale pink lilac | $16 US, $19 CAD | Limited Edition| 10mL

Light, milky, soft neutral pink.  I like this shade, but it’s nothing I haven’t seen before from any of the major polish companies.  The closest dupe I have is China Glaze’s Something Sweet, which is more vivid and slightly bluer, and I actually prefer it that way. Midsummer’s Dream applied nice and smooth, and was opaque in 2 coats.

| Play Day | Pale Milky Coral | $16 US, $19 CAD | Limited Edition | 10mL

I loooove coral polishes.  This one’s a bit more orange than China Glaze’s IV, but it’s close enough for me.  I found Play Day a bit streaky, it took 3 coats to get it right.

LOVES:  

  • Applies smoothly
  • Fun shades for spring
  • Easy shades to wear for most folks

LOATHES: 

  • The price.  MAC, are you serious?
  • Thin brush (I find large brushes like OPI a lot easier to work with)
  • Play Day was a bit streaky

FINAL WORD:

Meh.  IMO, there’s nothing to go crazy over.  Thanks to my China Glaze dupes, I passed on both lacquers.

Top to Bottom: MAC Play Day, China Glaze IV, MAC Midsummer's Dream, China Glaze Something Sweet

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to VERA: Nail Lacquers Review, Swatches, and Pics

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading VERA: Nail Lacquers Review, Swatches, and Pics at Brown Girl Friendly Beauty Blog.

meta