TRES CHEEK: Blush Review, Swatches, Photos

April 5, 2012 § 7 Comments

MAC Tres Cheek Blushes

Blush as vibrantly, softly, or hip as you dare in shades that reflect your mood, style and skin tone. Six new limited edition Blush Powders in red-orange, peach, pink and lavender that are seamlessly sheer, and stay as bright on the skin as they are in palette.

TRÉS CHEEK: BLUSH

Release Date: April 5, 2012 / April 2012 (International)
Available at MAC Cosmetics

Sigh.  This collection really hurt my feelings.  Such high hopes.  Such immense disappointment.  These blushes are beautiful and everything I’d hoped for…. on lighter skin!  On my NW45/47 cheeks?  No such luck.   All applied smoothly, but lacked the necessary pigmentation needed to show up on my cheeks.

MAC Modern Mandarin Blush

Modern Mandarin | Red-orange | Satin | $20 US, $24 CAD | Limited Edition | 6g

I’d describe this as a warm, vibrant tangerine.  I had *suuuuuch* high hopes for Modern Mandarin.  I’ve been daydreaming about this blush for so long.  I imagined this beautifully pigmented, earthy orange warming up my cheeks.  Well, I guess I’ll have to keep looking.  😥 It showed up on my forearm (which is lighter than my face), but on my cheeks, it didn’t have any of that orange lovliness I’d dreamt about. It just looked like… “sheen”.. almost frosty, even.  Actually, this was quite frosty on me.  The more I added (in hopes of more orange), the “frostier” it became and then started to turn more pink.  Very disappointing.  However, if you have NC45/NW42 skin and below, I think you will have more luck.  It’s a beautiful tangerine on NC 25 skin.  It’s very vibrant on fairer skin, so a little does go a long way.  Devil is much more vibrant.

MAC Immortal Flower Blush

| Immortal Flower Bright Peach | Satin | $20 US, $24 CAD | Limited Edition | 6g

Soft, light peach.  Well, shocker.  This was even less visible than Modern Mandarin on my cheeks, but without the frostiness.  It looked matte (and dusty….) on my skin, even though it is a satin.  I think NC42/NW40 and below will like this.  Peaches is more saturated.  Fresh Honey is slightly lighter.

MAC Lovecloud Blush

| Lovecloud | Bright Mid-tone Pink | Satin | $20 US, $24 CAD | Limited Edition | 6g

The description says pink, but I’d say this is a pinky-peach shade.  It has very slight orange tones to it that make it look more peach.  Very pretty shade, but as with the rest, I wish it was more pigmented.  It had a slightly sheeny finish on my skin.  NC45/NW43 and below will have better luck with this shade.    Pinch Me is a deeper, more pigmented alternative.

MAC Full of Joy Blush

| Full of Joy | Lavender | Frost | $20 US, $24 CAD | Limited Edition | 6g

Soft lavender with subtle hints of pink, and very visible frost.  My initial thoughts, “Lavender? Frost…?  On my cheeks?  Yikes.”  It wasn’t as terrible as I expected, but it was silvery with a hint of lavender, and thus, completely unflattering on me.  Some brown girls may use it as a highlight, but it’s far too cool and too frosty for my warm skin.  If your skin is very deep with blue undertones (think Alek Wek), then maybe this would be a suitable highlight if used in moderation.  With that said, it’s LOVELY on fair skin.  I love that it’s a completely unique shade for MAC blushes.  I’d say this is the blush equivalent of Budding Love.  Hmmmm, I think NC35 (maybe NC40)/NW35 might be able to rock this one as a blush.   Coygirl would be the most similar shade, but it’s not nearly as lavender, it’s not a frost,  and it’s also being discontinued :-\

MAC Peony Petal Blush

| Peony Petal | Bright Blue Pink | Satin | $20 US, $24 CAD | Limited Edition | 6g

I’d describe this as a light, bright blue-pink.  This is the only blush out of the 6 that gave me any kind of visible colour besides “ash”.  I realy had to layer it on for the colour to come through.  It was very light, but at least I could see something.  However with that said, it’s a cute shade, but not unique to MAC.  It had slight hints of sheen, but looked more matte on me.  Dollymix is not as blue.

MAC Pink Tea Blush

| Pink Tea | Neutral Beiged Pink | Satin | $20 US, $24 CAD | Limited Edition | 6g

This is a very neutral beige shade with a barely there bit of pink.  This also looked matte on my skin instead of satin.  I think this would definitely suit the NC35 (maybe even NC40?)/NW35 women of the world, especially those that are even fairer.  It’s lighter and softer than Pink Cult.

LOVES:  
* um…… “A” for Effort, I suppose.  Okay, okay.  The blushes all applied well, and the colour range is on-trend and very appropriate for spring & summer.

LOATHES:
* 5 of these are described as “satin,” bur only 2 of those 5 had a visibly “satin” finish on my skin
* These shades were very disappointing in terms of pigmentation for darker skin like mine.  They all came up quite light and none of them did much for my adding anything to my complexion. 😦

FINAL WORD:
Sad to say, but in my humblest of humble opinions, if you have dark brown skin like moi, these blushes are a Brown Girl Failure in terms of pigmentation and adding any real, natural-looking warmth to the skin.  I really believe that the fairer your skin is, the better this collection will suit you.  But, don’t let this review sway you too much.  Pop into a MAC store and try them out to see for yourself 🙂

Available at MAC Cosmetics

MAC Modern Mandarin Blush

MAC Modern Mandarin Blush

MAC Modern Mandarin Blush

MAC Modern Mandarin Blush

MAC Modern Mandarin Blush (applied on the apple of my cheek)

MAC Immortal Flower Blush

MAC Immortal Flower Blush

MAC Immortal Flower Blush

MAC Immortal Flower Blush

MAC Immortal Flower Blush (applied on the apple of my cheek & toward the temple)

MAC Lovecloud Blush

MAC Lovecloud Blush

MAC Lovecloud Blush

MAC Lovecloud Blush

MAC Lovecloud Blush (applied on the apple of my cheek & toward the temple)

MAC Full of Joy Blush

MAC Full of Joy Blush

MAC Full of Joy Blush

MAC Full of Joy Blush

MAC Full of Joy Blush (applied on the apple of my cheek & toward the temple)

MAC Peony Petal Blush

MAC Peony Petal Blush

MAC Peony Petal Blush

MAC Peony Petal Blush

MAC Peony Petal Blush (applied on the apple of my cheek)

MAC Pink Tea Blush

MAC Pink Tea Blush

MAC Pink Tea Blush

MAC Pink Tea Blush

MAC Pink Tea Blush (applied on the apple of my cheek)

Do you disagree?  If you found something you loved from this collection, share the  wealth!  Tell  me your foundation colour and the blush you picked up!

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 7 Responses to TRES CHEEK: Blush Review, Swatches, Photos

  • iCandy says:

    eh… these are too doll faced for me 😦 maybe with a bright opo of colour on the lip but these blushes seem a bit of a stretch.

  • I was so excited about Modern Mandarin, and was almost prepared to fork out the $41 it costs here in Australia, I’m so glad I saw your review and swatches first. Think I’ll give it a miss! Great review!!

  • Latoya says:

    Ohh, I don’t know how I haven’t managed to stumble upon this blog before, but I’m so happy I did!! I found the exact same issue when I literally ran into the store April 5th to check these blushes out – they just didn’t do it for me! I am about an NC42 most of the year (though I just went to Jamaica for a week so now I’m MUCH darker), and while two of the six blushes did show up, they just didn’t do what I wanted them to do, which was to rock my world. Bummer, right!? Thanks for showing swatches of these, it reinforced my belief that passing these up was the right thing to do 🙂

    • Hey Latoya! Thanks for stopping by & commenting! 🙂 Yeah, Trés Cheek was clearly a “majah” disappointment for darker skinned ladies. All good, though. I’m sure bigger & better things are on the MAC horizon 🙂

  • I’m about NW35 and Modern Mandarin (swatched in store) just gave me a hint of peachy glow. I ordered it, though it’s yet to be shipped, and I think i’ll be using it as a highlighter. I also wanted Immortal Flower but like you – it was almost invisible on the back of my hand, forearm and the underside of my arm so I passed on it. I’ll stick with peaches.

  • […] For swatches on a much darker complexion check out BrownGirlFriendly.  […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading TRES CHEEK: Blush Review, Swatches, Photos at Brown Girl Friendly Beauty Blog.

meta

