MAC REEL SEXY: A Short Film

March 13, 2012 § 6 Comments

Nowness was lovely enough to globally premiere MAC’s Reel Sexy promotional video/short film featuring “iconic model” Kristen McMenamy (I’ve never heard of her before this). The Reel Sexy collection, scheduled for release on April 5, is inspired by surreal cinema, and asks us the question: Is it better to watch or be watched?  Hmmmmm.  Either way, the makeup in this promo is BRIGHT and certainly not for the wallflowers!  I’ll post the full colour story and promo pics soon, but until then, what do you think of the video?  I’m not quite sure what to make of it, really lol  At best, it’s…. a conversation piece, I suppose.

On a related note, until I post swatches, these are the shades I’m looking forward to the most from Reel Sexy for brown-skinned beauties (source):

LIPSTICKS:
Reel Sexy | Light Bright Coral | Amplified
Watch Me Simmer | Bright Pink-orange | Amplified
Heroine | Bright Violet Purple | Matte

CREMESHEEN GLASS:
Colour Saturation | Dark Cool Wine
Star Quality | Bright Orange Coral

POWDER BLUSH:
Magenta | Bright Magenta

Tagged:

§ 6 Responses to MAC REEL SEXY: A Short Film

  • Eden-Avalon says:

    I”m so glad they’re re promoting Watch Me Simmer and I also really want to try Reel Sexy…I hope they aren’t too similar 8D

    • Hey Eden-Avalon! 🙂 Welcome!

      No, Watch Me Simmer and Reel Sexy are not too similar to own both. Reel Sexy is much lighter and nowhere near as pink. I’ll have a full review of the whole collection up in a few days 🙂

  • Mira says:

    Alright so she does look older in the vid than the promo pic. If they photo-shop the makeup, why not the wrinkles too!

    Though I am loving the double blush look (1:19). Probably not quite those colours, but I will definitely trying that out.

  • Joanne_ says:

    I look forward to this collection, what I don’t look forward to is the hype and the selling out but I will keep my fingers crossed. I like the theme as well. Will def be looking out for heroine lipstick, I love purples!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading MAC REEL SEXY: A Short Film at Brown Girl Friendly Beauty Blog.

meta

