Liner Love: Cork Lip Pencil

February 10, 2012 § 6 Comments

Cork Lip Pencil

A pencil designed for shaping, lining or filling in the lip. Lip Pencils have a smooth, creamy texture that is perfect for lining the lips or filling them in. They are long-lasting and available in a wide selection of colours that each work well with many different lipstick shades. The colour of Lip Pencils is protected by Vitamin E, which acts as an anti-oxidant, and they contain emollients that moisturize the lips. Lip Pencils can be worn alone, with Lipstick, or Lipglass.

| Cork Lip Pencil | Muted Golden Brown | $14 US, $16.50 CAD | Permanent | 1.45 g

So, let me preface this by saying Viva Glam Gaga 2 lipstick is not the easiest colour for Brown Girls to wear on its own.  On NC/NW45 + skin, it’s light, it’s pale, it’s grayish, and simply just not the business.  Unless you have lighter skin and lips, I’m just going to say Viva Glam Gaga 2 is not Brown Girl Friendly at all.  Quite frankly, it looks like doo-doo.  But, you probably already knew that. 🙂

That’s when our buddy Cork Lip Pencil comes to the rescue!

On me, (NW 45/47), Cork is the perfect liner!  It’s not too light and not too dark.  It brings together the different shades in my lips, which is exactly what I need when going for a nude lip. Yes, it’s an extra step, but I’m willing to take the 5 seconds to get the result I want.

So, this is what scary Viva Glam Gaga 2 looks like on me (yikes….):

Viva Glam Gaga 2 Lipstick

And this is how Cork turned this unforgivable lipstick into my new favourite ultra-nude:

Lips Filled In With Cork Lip Pencil

Viva Glam Gaga 2 Lipstick dabbed over Cork Lip Pencil

Pretty good, no?

 

Edited to add: lol My coworker said the cork/gaga combo in the last pic looks ashy!!! I can’t believe it!! I sweaaaaar it’s not ashy in person! I wouldn’t do that to you all! 

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 6 Responses to Liner Love: Cork Lip Pencil

  • […] Cork Lip Pencil | Muted Golden Brown Viva Glam Nicki over Cork Lip Pencil […]

  • Dhari says:

    my go to liners are stripdown or hodgepodge when i need to fill in my lips to help lipsticks not look so ghastly. But for some reason i cant really make gaga 2 work on me the way i want it to. And im highly upset mac is getting rid of hodgepodge -_-

    • Hey D! 🙂

      I bought VG Gaga 2 because I wanted a nude for my NW45/47 skin and I don’t like Siss. I can literally only dab on VG Gaga 2 over cork to get the nude I want. If I put on too much, it looks terrible. I hate having to dab lipstick, because it seems like such a waste of money, but I haven’t found a nude I like yet before this VG Gaga 2 + cork combo. They’re usually too light and washed out for me.

      So maybe try dabbing it on over your liner?

      Yeah, MAC is getting rid of a LOT of stuff!! Most notably, the Mineralize Creme foundations in all the darker shades 😐 womp.

      • Kiki says:

        Hi, I’m an NW47 with red undertones and I’m always searching for the perfect nude. You should try NYX Matte lipstick in Maison. It’s not the best formula but I wear fresh sugar underneath to keep my lips moist.

    • iCandy says:

      omg me too I had no idea it was discontinued. MAC really has no love for black girls.. we can’t all wear cork 😦

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Liner Love: Cork Lip Pencil at Brown Girl Friendly Beauty Blog.

meta

