MAC Viva Glam REVIEW: Nicki Minaj & Ricky Martin

January 26, 2012 § 63 Comments

Viva Glam Nicki & Ricki
Ricky Martin and Nicki Minaj in the M·A·C Viva Glam 2012 campaign shot by David LaChapelle. Every cent of Ricky and Nicki’s Viva Glam products, on-counter February 2012, goes to support the M·A·C AIDS Fund.

VIVA GLAM NICKI & RICKY

Release Date: February 15, 2012


test1

Viva Glam Nicki

>>>>>>>>>> ***CLICK HERE FOR UPDATED SWATCHES*** <<<<<<<<<<

Well folks, it’s almost February and time for a new Viva Glam spokesperson (or two!). Nicki Minaj and Ricky Martin are the newest faces representing MAC’s Viva Glam line with two new (ish) products set to launch early February.  Swatches and reviews of this lipstick have already been popping up online, but not on any brown girls so far!  🙂

Viva Glam Nicki ($14.50 US, $17.50 CAD) is a lipstick, while Viva Glam Ricky ($15 US, $18 CAD) is a lip conditioner tube. Viva Glam Ricky is exactly the same as the permanent lip conditioner tube, except that the packaging bears Ricky’s signature in the same bright red writing as previous limited Viva Glam products. So, if you love lip conditioner, here’s your chance to donate to a great cause and keep your lips sexy.

So with that said, let’s talk about Viva Glam Nicki! This lipstick is a BRIGHT (almost neon) pinky-coral shade with a satin finish. As with most satin finishes, the color pay off is pretty decent with a slight sheen. Just like most light coloured lipsticks, it will definitely show texture. I exfoliated my lips three times and it still showed texture.

It goes on like butter! The application is super smooth which made it nice to put on. I wouldn’t say it’s a hydrating lipstick, but my lips did not feel dried out after wearing for a few hours. I got about 4 hours of wear out of it without eating or drinking.

Now, the colour….. it’s so pretty in the tube. I was expecting a more vibrant coral shade when applied, but on my bare lips, it shows up more as a lighter pink. Because it’s such a light shade on me, I would likely wear this lipstick with some kind of liner, or only apply one layer of it. This shade would be dope if I was going for a particular look, but it’s not a lipstick I’d think to grab on a regular day. With that said, I’ve seen it on much lighter skin/lips and it’s unreal! It’s a gorgeous, super-vibrant pinky-coral that’s been very flattering on everyone else I’ve seen it on so far. Now, I *love* a bold, bright lip, but on me, this particular shade is not my fave. It doesn’t show up on my lips with a rich enough colour for my liking, but I would still rock this lipstick once in a while.

FINAL WORD: When I only wear one layer, Viva Glam Nicki is a pretty and soft shade with no ashiness to be found! I rate this lipstick BrownGirlFriendly.

What do you think of it? Let me know in the Comments!

Bare Lips

One Layer (Sheer)

Two Layers (Opaque)

>>>>>>>>>> ***CLICK HERE FOR UPDATED SWATCHES*** <<<<<<<<<<

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 63 Responses to MAC Viva Glam REVIEW: Nicki Minaj & Ricky Martin

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading MAC Viva Glam REVIEW: Nicki Minaj & Ricky Martin at Brown Girl Friendly Beauty Blog.

meta

